Martinson Award Recipients

Martinson Innovation Award Recipients


Hartwick College for its Equity Initiative spearheaded by James Cochran, Director of the 21st-Century Writing Competency Program and the Charlotte Orr Hotaling Writing Center and Writing Program. See press release for details.


Macalester College’s MAX (Macalester Academic Excellence) Center for the work facilitated by Brit Abel, Associate Professor (NTT) of German Studies; Director of Writing, and the Serie Center for Scholarship and Teaching, and Jake Mohan, Writing Support Coordinator. See press release for details.


Bates College for “An Ecological Approach to Antiracist Writing Instruction at Bates College,” submitted by Stephanie Wade, Daniel Sanford, Bridget Fullerton, and Eric Dyer. See press release for details.


Bowdoin College’s Writing Program for its antiracist framework for the hiring of peer tutors, submitted by Meredith McCarroll, Director of Writing and Rhetoric. See press release for details.

University of Puget Sound for Sound Writing, an online writing handbook written by and for Puget Sound students, submitted by Julie Christoph, Associate Academic Dean. See press release for details.

Martinson Award for Excellence

2018, Transylvania University Writing Center, for its course-embedded tutor pilot program, submitted by Director of Writing Center Scott Whiddon

2017, Franklin and Marshall College, for its in-class workshops program, submitted by Daniel Frick, Director of the Writing Center, and Justin Hopkins, Assistant Director of the Writing Center

2016, Dickinson College, for the Norman M. Eberly Multilingual Writing Center, submitted by Noreen Lape, Associate Provost for Academic Affairs, Director of the Writing Program, and Director of the Norman M. Eberly Multilingual Writing Center